First Ever PokerStars ANZPT Title Goes to Aussie Native

PokerStars ANZPT
0 0 votes
By Jennifer Newell On the heels of much success around the world with the likes of the European Poker Tour, Latin American Poker Tour, and Asia Pacific Poker Tour, launched the ANZPT (Australia New Zealand Poker Tour) due to much demand from the two islands for more poker tournament action. So, on February 4, 2009, the cards went in the air in Adelaide, Australia, to kick off the first season of the ANZPT. Players were ready and waiting for and the ANZPT crew to hit town, as evidenced by the well-attended AU$3K buy-in event and names like Joe Hachem, Tony G, Mel Judah, and Lee Nelson in the field. Expecting the crowds, the main event was divided into two starting days to comfortably accommodate everyone. Day 1A began with 104 players and Hachem doing the “shuffle up and deal” honors. Slow play at the beginning of the day led to a faster pace as the levels progressed, leaving only 37 in their seats by the end of the day. James Broom sat atop the leaderboard with 183,500 chips, and a bit of a distant second was Derren Bullock with 125,000. Names like Hachem and Emad Tahtough were also still in the running. Day 1B found another 111 players ready for action, making the total tournament number 215 and the prize pool $586,950. It was a casino record and a resounding success for the inaugural ANZPT event. In the fray for the day were names like Tony Dunst, Sam Khouiss, Graeme Putt, Billy Argyros, Grant Levy, and Tony Hachem, but when play ended, it was Julius Colman in the lead with more than 200K in chips. Of the 40 players remaining, notables included Celina Lin and Tony Hachem. Day 2 brought the 77 survivors together, but the field would soon diminish as the bubble approached. That distinction would be taken by Tahtough, who left in 19th place but gave everyone else the opportunity to make at least AU$5,870. Some of the in-the-money finishers included Mel Judah and Tony Hachem, who were eliminated in 16th and 15th places, respectively. And when the day was done, the final table was set as follows: Seat 1: Bruno Potaro (AUS) 552,000 Seat 2: Mike Stecker (USA) 390,000 Seat 3: Karl Krautschneider (AUS) 662,000 Seat 4: James Broom (AUS) 443,000 Seat 5: Julius Colman (AUS) 596,000 Seat 6: Tony Dunst (USA) 635,000 Seat 7: Dean Nyberg (AUS) 438,000 Seat 8: Daniel Noja (AUS) 304,000 Seat 9: Celina Lin (AUS) 260,000 On Saturday, February 7, play resumed to determine the winner. With blinds at 6,000/12,000, action began…from the very first hand. It was Bruno Potaro with an all-in reraise preflop holding pocket sevens, but it was James Broom who called all-in with A-K. The board showed 3-J-J-8-T, and Broom was suddenly gone from the mix in ninth place, which was worth AU$11,740. With one elimination out of the way, play slowed and the table ran for about 90 minutes before the next exit. Potaro got involved with Karl Krautschneider before the 9-K-3 flop, but it was post-flop that Potaro was all-in with his A-K. Krautschneider called with pocket queens, and it was a queen on the river that gave him the win. Bruno Potaro was ousted in eighth place with AU$17,610. Another hour went by before Celina Lin decided to tangle with Daniel Noja. Lin reraised preflop with pocket sixes, and Noja called with A-K. When the A-3-Q came on the flop and nothing of significance on the turn or river, Celina Lin became the seventh place finisher with a AU$23,475 prize. Speed was then the word. It took minutes for Julius Colman to take his relative short stack into the fray with Tony Dunst and Dean Nyberg to see the flop of J-4-5. Colman pushed the rest of his chips all-in with Q-J, and Dunst stuck around, calling with pocket jacks. Nothing came on the turn or river to save Nyberg, who left in sixth place with AU$29,345. It was the very next hand that saw another take leave of the final table. Beginning with a raise from Nyberg, Krautschneider called, and the two saw ah ad 8d hit the flop. More betting led to the 6d on the turn, at which point Nyberg moved all-in with qd jd. Krautschneider called and happily turned over the kd td for the best flush, and the river card changed nothing. Dean Nyberg was out in fifth place with AU$41,085. Shortly thereafter, Mike Stecker made his all-in move with A-4, but it was Krautschneider with the A-Q call. The flop solidified the outcome when it came A-Q-3, and Stecker made a quick exit in fourth place with AU$52,825 in prize money. Noja was the desperate short stack but stayed steady, chipping up to gain ground. But Dunst got in the way and took a significant pot from him to make Noja the short stack again. Noja pushed with kc jc, and Dunst called with ac qc. The clubs came on the board, but Dunst had the nut flush for the win, sending Daniel Noja out in third place with AU$64,565. Heads-up play began as follows: Kark Krautschneider 2,454,000 Tony Dunst 1,824,000 The determination of Dunst garnered him some chips, enough to take the lead, but that change of status was temporary, as Krautschneider did take the lead back. The final hand began with both players seeing a flop of 4-2-K with two clubs on the board. Krautschneider was the first to go all-in with 9c 8c and the club draw, but Dunst decided to call all-in with kd 2d and two pair. The turn was a 3d, but it was the 7c on the turn that gave the flush to Krautschneider. Tony Dunst was forced out in second place and was given AU$111,520 for the effort. Aussie Karl Krautschneider won the inaugural ANZPT tournament in Adelaide. The AU$170,215 prize money made for a nice profit on the initial $33 investment on PokerStars that led to his entry into the tournament. (Thanks to the PokerStars blog for live updates.)